banner-48
lefthomeaboutpastarchiveright

Bengal’s Eliot

‘Samar Sen : Poetry & Frontier’

Bibekananda Ray

Anirban Biswas's article 'Samar Sen: Poetry & Frontier' in Autumn Number 2015 summed up the life and struggles of the founder-editor of this weekly. During 1961-'63 when I was a post-graduate student of English literature in the Presidency College, Samar Sen was to us a Bengali echo of T S Eliot who influenced poets of his generation enormously. Even Rabindranath liked his poems and translated his 'journey of the Maggi'. Sudhindranath Datta used to write on him often in Parichay but only Samar Sen imbibed Eliot's poetic idiom. By 1939, when he passed MA in English literature from Calcutta University, Eliot's major works have been published—his world-famous critical essays, poetry (including 'The Waste Land') and four plays (up to 'Family Reunion') which were available in Kolkata and read by wannabe and well-known poets. Sen must have read them also; Eliot's existential anguish during and after the World War-I echoed only in his poetry. Unless known or told, lines such as "Wherever you go, / in stillness of some startled moment know! /your breath will catch, to hear with sudden dread, /of death the muffled, undelaying tread" and so on, sound like early Eliot's. Unlike Eliot but like many fellow poets like Bishnu Dey and Subhas Mukhopadhyaya, he was attracted to, and influenced by, Russian Marxism and later by its Chinese Maoist variety. Great poetry being untransla-table, the appeal of much of Samar Sen's is lost in translation. We used to look forward to, and read avidly, his pieces in NOW until he left it in 1968 and launched Frontier with meagre resources. After post-graduation he taught briefly in P K College, Contai; his colleagues and my father, then Sanitary Inspector in the coastal town, remembered him fondly. When I worked in the News department in AIR New Delhi as Joint Director from 1988, I heard many anecdotes about him—how he improved English in bul